#

View Testimonials

Patients Share Their Story

Below are Testimonials that were submitted by satisfied patients:

Having suffered an injury when I was an "indestructible" young man working out, it began to slowly manifest into a problematic condition as the decades passed. I had trained in the martial arts for many years, and I began to lose my ability to kick and move with power. For many years, I endured the pain and weakness in my right leg to the point I could no longer train at all and I had to walk with a cane. It became clear to me that I was heading to a wheelchair. People began to look at me as an old, crippled man, limping as I was all bent over and twisted. Finally, I heard of the reputation of Dr. Duffy at Southeast Orthopedic and scheduled an appointment. Dr. Duffy informed me that the hip joint was bone on bone and gone and asked how had I endured the pain for so long? He told me that not too long ago when this happened, a person just became crippled for life. He continued, "but now we can fix this. Would you like for me to fix this?" My response was "yes, please". He said, "When?" and with tears in my eyes at the thought of finally having relief, I said "as soon as possible." Three weeks later I was in physical therapy at Southeast Orthopedic getting stronger after a relatively painless surgical experience, and a couple weeks after that I was power walking the neighborhood, standing up straight with a big smile on my face. I have my life back. I have my martial arts back, actively training again as when I was younger. And I throw powerful kicks again. Why had I waited for so long?

David Hansford    July 19, 2017   

I was referred to DR Redmond through a former patient of his. I had pain in my left hip and lower back over five years which gradually became worse. When I first saw DR Redmond, I was walking with a cane and not sleeping well. DR Redmond reviewed the x-rays with me and explained the options, recommending that I consider a total hip replacement. He answered all of my questions and put me at ease.

The surgery went well and I was up walking the next day without pain. I used a walker for two days and then didn't need it anymore. I recovered at home. There was no formal rehab; I did daily exercises that were prescribed by the physical therapist at the hospital.

I am very happy with the result and now feel great. Three months after surgery I have no restrictions. I would recommend DR Redmond to anyone who has hip pain and is considering surgery.

John Lamouria    December 29, 2016   

At the age of 31, I found myself facing some difficult obstacles and having
to make decisions that I knew would have an impact on the rest of my life. I
had been dealing with what I called "a bad hip", with constant inflammation,
decreased range of motion and pain, that over the course of 1 year rendered
me incapable of performing simple everyday tasks. I was having trouble
getting out of my car, stepping on & off curbs or climbing a flight of
stairs without assistance. I was a companion and mother, who had severe
limitations of what I could do with my family without having to guard my
hip. This was an issue that progressed rather quickly and was actively
chipping away at my sense of self-worth. I had sought medical treatment
from a provider, that offered multiple rounds of steroid injections and
therapy, with little to no improvement. I was told that I would need a hip
replacement at age 31! I went for a second opinion, who informed me and my
family that I may not need a replacement, but a corrective procedure that
he was unable to perform. While I appreciated his honesty, at this point my
frustrations were nearing a peak. I was terrified. I needed help. I didn't
know what kind, but I needed a plan. My second opinion provider advised me
to find Dr. John Redmond in Jacksonville, FL for a 3rd opinion.

Scheduling a consult with Dr. Redmond, was one of the best decisions I've
ever made in my life. Seeking multiple specialists, definitely hindered my
faith for a bit. However, Dr. Redmond pulled me out of a dark place. He
talked to me, emphasizing the facts in words that I and my family could
understand. His intellect, professionalism, and compassion paired with a
great support staff, reassured me that there was still hope of preserving
and restoring my original hip. Dr. John Redmond did just that. We shook
hands on the morning of my operation, and I knew I was in great hands. I'm
proud and beyond excited to report everything has been uphill ever since!
His work has exceeded my expectations far beyond measure. On a daily basis,
I live about 90-95% pain free. I walk and move with confidence. I can
exercise. I can perform my job without limitations. Most importantly I'm
able to actively enjoy time with my family. I truly believe my structure
and functionality has been restored! I thank God for the opportunity to work
with such an amazing craftsman. I say "work with" because that was exactly
how he made me and my family feel. We worked together. I trust Dr. John
Redmond, and I am honored to be able to share my experience with him.

Selena Lane    December 14, 2016   

“In May of 2006, Dr. Shirley repaired my torn ACL from playing with the Jacksonville Dixie Blues Women's Professional Football Team. In June of 2010, Dr. Murphy repaired my torn meniscus from officiating lacrosse. In March of 2014, Dr. Acevedo detached and re-attached my Achilles Tendon to remove a bone spur on the back of my calcaneus. In November of 2014, Dr. Bates repaired my tibial plateau fracture from being hit in an NCAA football game while officiating.

Officiating is my passion. Being in a wheel chair 3 months recovering from my tibial plateau repair, there was a concern that I may not be able to even walk again. Being able to return to the avocation I love so much means everything to me and I appreciate every opportunity I get to officiate. I have returned to the basketball court and football and lacrosse fields officiating again thanks to Southeast Orthopedics' physicians.”

Anna Lee Sweden    November 6, 2016   

Dr. Murphy,
I surfed for the first time in a 6 months today and I couldn't stop smiling the entire time. Surfing is one of my greatest passions and I'll be forever grateful that you and your staff got me back on the surfboard. Thank you a million times. Chris.

Chris Shuff    December 9, 2015   

My name is Tom and I am 48 yrs. old. I have been very active in many sports throughout my life. I especially love water sports and have acquuired a few injuries along the way. In June of 2015 I sustained a shoulder and Bicep injury that were quite serious while kitesurfing. I had my doubts about any kind of speedy recovery. I had a torn long head bicep tendon, torn bicep, torn rotator cuff, and torn labrum. To make a long story short I cannot express how thankful I am that I found Dr. Deshmukh and the team at Southeast Orthopedics. They are not only highly skilled and knowledgeable in Orthopedic care, but are all some of the most caring and comitted people you will find anywhere. I cannot thank them enough for their patience and willingness to do everything possible to nurse me back to 100%. I am now back to my old self after extensive shoulder surgery and physical therapy after only 16 weeks. They really are miracle workers and I assure you they will do everything possible so that you can have the same outcome too.
Sincerly, Tom Dillon

Tom Dillon    November 4, 2015   

Having faced hyper-extendable ligaments my entire life, my parents and I have spent countless hours consulting with orthopedists and physical therapists about techniques to help my ligaments become stronger. Nevertheless, when I reached adulthood, one of my main concerns was locating an orthopedist that would be able to stabilize my ligaments. Furthermore, I did extensive research for the finest orthopedist experienced in my condition. I was very blessed to find Doctor Kevin Murphy, who was highly recommended and experienced in my condition.

Doctor Murphy analyzed my lax ligaments and determined I would be a prime candidate for a ligament replacement in my knees. He felt due to my young age this surgery would give me a better quality of life. After the surgery, I underwent extensive physical therapy at Southeast Physical Therapy with Brandon as my therapist. Doctor Murphy has specific therapy requirements for this particular surgery, and Brandon had previously treated someone for MPFL surgery. Brandon gave me the confidence to work through the pain and to look towards enjoying again the activities that once hindered me.

Thank you Doctor Murphy and Brandon for helping me to gain a quality of life back.

Hannah Mandel.

Hannah Mandel    October 31, 2015   

Last Febuary(2015) I had major surgery on my right foot. I will admit the recovery was a challenge. Finally, around October 1st, the pain went away. I was beginning to think I would never be pain free. Saw Dr Acevedo today, October 28, and he said I just have a little Achilles tendonitis. The whole process made me realize how I'd taken my foot for granted. Also have more empathy for people with physical challenges. Thank God Dr Acevedo has the knowledge to help people live a better quality of life.

Gail Grange    October 29, 2015   

For several years I suffered from worsening shoulder pain in both shoulders. It reached a point where I could barely lift my arms. I was referred to Dr. Deshmukh and thanks to his outstanding surgical skill and physical therapist Nedzad Cavka's knowledge and patience I can now raise both arms above my head and have no pain. Thank you SOS for coming to my rescue.

Elinor J. Baker.    October 11, 2015   

This is the most well run office I've ever encountered.Outstanding from the first appointment with Dr Murphy,through the surgery,follow-up appointments with all the PA.s,office staff and finally therapy with Jack Dunn at the same location.I never had to wait one second past my appointment times and was always treated with care and concern in a most professional manner.
Thanks to all
Glenn Thomas

Glenn Thomas    May 5, 2015   

Frank Collier, MD

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Pain Management Specialist

Dr. Frank Collier is a board-certified Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation physician and Pain Management Specialist who specializes in the treatment of injuries and illnesses that affect how people move and function while living with pain.

VIEW FULL BIO

LATEST NEWS

Know When to Seek Medical Care for Lower Back Pain

Back pain doesn't necessarily require medical attention in all cases. Mild pain that doesn't overly impair your movement or daily activities often goes away on its own. A bit of soreness should be relatively easy to treat with over-the-counter remedies. However, there are many instances when...

read more